Paleo Day 3 Dinner: One Pot Chicken Drumsticks

herbed-chicken-legs-fw

I’m making an effort to try recipes that I wouldn’t automatically be attracted to, for the sake of opening my mind and finding new go-to meals and foods. I have always been turned off by chicken on the bone. Having been a vegetarian for 5 years might do most of the explaining for that, but I also don’t like all the junk that you have to eat or sift through with chicken on the bone, like skin, fat, veins, weird pieces of slimy meat, etc. But I decided to give this a try anyway.

One Pot Chicken Drumsticks

2 tablespoons coconut oil

8 chicken drumsticks

Sea salt and black pepper

1 tablespoon poultry seasoning

1 medium yellow onion, cut into large chunks

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 cup diced fresh tomatoes

3-5 small zucchini, cut into large chunks

Serves 4

  1. In a large skillet, heat the coconut oil over medium-high heat until hot enough to sizzle when you add the drumsticks. Generously season the drumsticks with salt and pepper, add to the hot oil, and sear for 5-7 minutes,  or until browned on all sides.
  2. Sprinkle the poultry seasoning on top of the drumsticks and add the onions, garlic, and tomatoes.
  3. Cover, turn the heat down to medium or medium-low, and simmer for 15 minutes.
  4. Add the zucchini and cook for an additional 5 minutes or until the chicken is no longer pink in the middle.

Well ultimately, I don’t plan on cooking this again. It is just really unappetizing to me. That’s not to say the preparation might be delicious to a person without an aversion to chicken bones. I just can’t even force myself to eat it, even though I feel like its a huge waste not to.

Leave a Reply

